The Organization
Chapter Officers
Board of Directors
Calendar of Events
Honors & Awards
Associate Development
Outreach Programs
Career Opportunities
Our Sponsors
Find An Architect
Antitrust Compliance
Contact Us

The Montgomery Chapter of the AIA takes pride in recognizing excellence in service and in architectural design by member architects. In doing so, the general quality of architectural practice is elevated and the public is apprised of the architect's commitment to enhancing the built environment for all.

Chapter Awards:

AIA Montgomery Design Awards
The Chapter is proud to recognize excellence in the architectural work of its members with the goal of elevating the quality of architecture in our region, and to establish a continually progressive standard of excellence by which Architects can assess their own work.

AIA Montgomery Design Award Winners

Mike Barrett Memorial Award

This special award was created in 2005 by the Montgomery Chapter of the AIA to recognize annually the outstanding contributions of an individual to the architectural profession. The award was named in memory of William Michael Barrett who worked for McAdams Commercial Flooring and was well-known and respected by the Architects in our region.

Mike Barrett Memorial Award Winners

Contractor Recognition Award

This award was created in 2009 by the Montgomery Chapter of the AIA to recognize annually a contractor, general or sub-contractor within the Chapter's area that has diligently shown excellence in their trade and over time has become a valuable partner in the architectural community. The award is presented during our annual Design Award Gala.

Contractor Recognition Award Winners

State Awards:

Alabama Council AIA Merit Award
Chambless King Architects of Montgomery, Alabama received an Alabama Council AIA Merit Award at the 2016 Design Awards Luncheon held at the Perdido Beach Resort in Orange Beach in July. The Alabama Council’s Design Awards Program encourages excellence in architecture through the commentary of their colleagues. A panel of distinguished architects from Louisiana were chosen as the jury. Entries were selected for recognition based on the success with which they met the jury's requirements. Chambless King was honored to receive a Merit Award for the Tankersley Residence.

Alabama Council AIA Accolade Award
Jim Seay, Jr. of Montgomery, Alabama received the Alabama Council AIA Accolade Award on January 31, 2008. Mr. Seay was recognized for his untiring efforts on behalf of intern architects and his promotion of the intern development program to educators, students, intern architects and registered architects.

AAF Distinguished Architect Award

Major L. Holland, FAIA, was recognized for a lifetime of achievement and for the professional excellence he has brought to the practice of architecture in the state of Alabama. Pat Conrad, executive director of the AAF Board, says, "Major Holland is an individual whose career embodies the spirit of the award. Major served on the original board of directors of the Alabama Architectural Foundation and was president in the organization's formative years. He is someone who goes quietly about getting things done, never calling attention to himself. Major has accomplished great things, earned the respect of many and just this past month was inducted into the Associated General Contractors Hall of Fame."

William M. Pearson, AIA, of Montgomery, Alabama was honored by the Alabama Architectural Foundation with the Distinguished Architect Award for 2007. The award is an acknowledgement of Mr. Pearson's distinguished work at the office of Pearson Humphries & Jones. Over the years Pearson served as a member of the Advisory Board for the School of Architecture at Auburn Unitversity, President of the Montgomery Chapter AIA, President of the Alabama Council AIA and President of the Alabama Architectural Foundation.

AAF Significant Building Award

The Newbern Fire Station/Town Hall received the AAF's Significant Building Award for 2010. This annual award celebrates a public building that makes a significant contribution to the architectural legacy of our state.

Jay Jenkins, awards chairman, says, "The Newbern Fire Station/Town Hall, designed by the Auburn University Rural Studio, is an exemplary public building. The facility exels in showing how thoughtful architectural design is capable of instilling a sense of pride in the citizens of this state while driving hope for a better tomorrow."

To submit recognized design honors and awards, contact our Secretary.

Join the AIA

Sponsorship Opportunities

AIA Montgomery Design Awards


CM at Risk Legislation